NEW BOARD elected at the Central Board of Jewish Communities in Greece Print
Monday, 19 September 2016 12:58

The 22nd Conference of Representatives of the Jewish Communities of Greece (which was postponed on June 26, 2016) convened in Athens on September 18, 2016, in order to elect the new Board of Directors of the Central Board of Jewish Communities in Greece (KIS), the umbrella organization of the Greek Jewry. During the opening of the Conference, the outgoing President of the Central Board of Jewish Communities in Greece, Mr. Moses Constantinis referred to his decades-long commitment to the Greek Jewish issues and expressed his firm belief that the new leadership will bring progress to the Community.

After the elections, the new Board was formed under the Presidency of Mr. David Saltiel, President of the Jewish Community of Thessaloniki, who has also served as KIS President from 2010 – 2013.

The newly elected President David Saltiel spoke of the challenges the Greek Jewry faces and announced his administration’s priorities, namely the continuity of Jewish heritage in Greece especially with regard to the maintaining of the small Jewish Communities, the need for more measures to overcome economic crisis and render the Communities viable, anti-Semitism and Holocaust education, the development of welfare programmes for the needy Holocaust survivors, projects for the support of young Jewish adults and the strengthening of relations with International Jewish Organizations.

The Board Directors of the Central Board of Jewish Communities in Greece (as of September 18, 2016):

 - President: David SALTIEL

- First Vice President: Benjamin ALBALAS (Athens) 

- Second Vice President:Victor ELIEZER (Athens)

- Secretary General: Moissis ELISSAF (Ioannina),

- Treasurer: Daniel BENARDOUT (Athens)

- Deputy Secretary General: Mordochai - Marcel SOLOMON (Volos)

- Deputy Treasurer: Solon MAISSIS (Chalkida)

- Members: Israel ROUSSO (Thessaloniki), Solomon PARENTE (Thessaloniki), Moissis MAGRIZOS (Larissa), Zacharias MATATHIAS (Corfu), Manos ALCHANATIS (Athens).    

- Alternate Members: Leon SALTIEL, Alvertos GIOMTOV, Isaac LEON.

The Board was welcomed by the Assembly of the eight Jewish Communities in Greece. Greetings were also addressed by the Ambassador of the State of Israel to Greece Mrs. Irit Ben Abba.